1800 046 240
to contact our Paddington Store
Looking for another store?

An African History of Africa

Badawi Zeinab

9780753560136

BOOK DETAILS

Price: $36.99
Format: Paperback / softback
ISBN13: 9780753560136
Published: April 2024

See more information below

This is a new book. Condition: Brand New.

Zeinab Badawi, award-winning broadcaster and President of SOAS, tells an epic story of the oldest inhabited continent in the world from an African perspective, for fans of William Dalrymple, David Olusoga and Peter Frankopan.

*AN INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER*
*A Radio 4 Book of the Week*
Selected as a book to look out for in 2024 by the Guardian and The Rest is Politics

Everyone is originally from Africa, and this book is therefore for everyone.

For too long, Africa's history has been dominated by western narratives of slavery and colonialism, or simply ignored. Now, Zeinab Badawi sets the record straight.

In this fascinating book, Badawi guides us through Africa's spectacular history - from the very origins of our species, through ancient civilisations and medieval empires with remarkable queens and kings, to the miseries of conquest and the elation of independence. Visiting more than thirty African countries to interview countless historians, anthropologists, archaeologists and local storytellers, she unearths buried histories from across the continent and gives Africa its rightful place in our global story.

The result is a gripping new account of Africa- an epic, sweeping history of the oldest inhabited continent on the planet, told through the voices of Africans themselves.

Book details and technical specifications

Format: Paperback / softback
ISBN13: 9780753560136
Published: April 2024

Number of pages: 544
Width: 153 mm
Height: 233 mm
Depth: 29 mm

Publisher: Ebury Publishing

blog comments powered by Disqus

This item is only on the shelf at the following Berkelouw bookshops. Please contact them directly to hold your copy.

Availability and price subject to change at any time.